Carter County, TN

Photo:  Doe River Covered Bridge, Elizabethton

Carter County, Tennessee was created in 1796 from Washington County and named in
honor of Revolutionary War veteran Landon Carter (1760 - 1800).  Landon Carter was
Speaker of the State of Franklin Senate and its Secretary of State.
Carter County is nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains at the convergence
of the Doe and Watauga Rivers. Elizabethton and Carter County provide residents, industries
and businesses with easy access to transportation through state and federal highways, the U.S. 
interstate system and local and regional airports.  Local higher educational institutions include
Milligan College and the Tennessee Technology Center at Elizabethton
Carter County is known for its beautiful natural sites. From the Watauga River, a trophy
trout stream, to the peaceful waters of Watauga Lake, along the winding Appalachian Trail
to the mile high Rhododendron Gardens on Roan Mountain, there's something for everyone.
Carter County has a population of 57,424 and a total area of 348 square miles. 

Area Profiles Home Pages
Census Bureau Profile               City of Elizabethton
Carter County Data Sheet Carter County
Elizabethton Data Sheet*     Carter County Tomorrow
  Elizabethton Electric System
  Tennessee Technology Center 
at Elizabethton
  Milligan College
News Media  
Elizabethton Star  
Johnson City Press  
*Requires Adobe Reader