Claiborne County, TN

Photo - Cumberland Gap Tunnel, U.S. Highway 25E

Claiborne County, Tennessee was created in 1801 from Grainger and Hawkins Counties and named in honor of William C. C. Claiborne (1775 - 1817), U.S. Congressman and Senator, and Governor of the Mississippi Territory and Louisiana.   Claiborne County is home of Lincoln Memorial University, a co-educational liberal arts college, nationally known for its large collection of Abraham Lincoln and Civil War era memorabilia.  Cumberland Gap, a mountain pass which played a critical role in the western migration and settlement of the United States, is the junction point for the states of Tennessee, Kentucky and Virginia.
Claiborne County has a population of 32,171 and a total area of 442 square miles. 
Area Profile Home Pages
Census Bureau Profile Chamber of Commerce
Claiborne County Data Sheet* Lincoln Memorial University
Tazewell-New Tazewell Data Sheet* Powell Valley Electric
News Media  
Claiborne Progress  
*Requires Adobe Reader